Daiso!


Daiso is open again! It closed about a month after I got here; I wasn’t sure if it was remodeling or if they were closing.  The good news is that they not only remodeled, but they added a second floor to the shop! Now there is more than ever in our Daiso!

Korea has many cute things.

Daiso is the equivalent of a Dollar Store in the united states.  There are items with prices marked in 1,000 won increments. I think the most expensive thing I have seen there was about 5,000 won, but there may be more expensive things.  Either way it is a good place to go for inexpensive things; they have everything from kitchenware to bathroom supplies to clocks.

Adorable and practical!

There are several different stores like this, but Daiso is a pretty popular one.  Saturday I found this cute polar bear headphones coiler. It is only made out of foam, but I like this sort of thing.  It is cute and very practical!

Almond chocolate Pocky!

I was also having a discussion with a friend on saturday about how certain things a re more expensive here in Korea.  We were talking about how canned tuna is more expensive here, but then again there are many things that are much less expensive than in the states.  As you would imagine, anything that is imported to the US will cost more.  I bought this large container of pocky for 3,000 won.  I also mentioned earlier that I was about to get produce pretty cheap in the traditional market here in town.  It is a give and take with prices, but the best thing you can do is to go local and find things that you enjoy!

Tell me what you think!